Pokemon Brown ROM

Pokemon Brown rom
When focusing on the main objectives, Pokemon Brown is about 25 Hours in length. If you're a gamer that strives to see all aspects of the game, you are likely to spend around 40 Hours to obtain 100% completion.

Pokémon Brown is a ROM hack of Pokémon Red, created in 2004 by Koolboyman. The game takes place in a new region, Rijon, which is south of Johto. It features 225 Pokemon, 5 new types, new Pokemon Evolutions, New TM's and much more!

You can download the Pokemon Brown rom from this page and to play the game you need to download the Visualboy Advance Emulator here.

You need to download and install Visual Boy Advance and then load the rom.

For detailed instructions per device, view below.

Download the official Pokemon Brown ROM in the (USA) version for the Game Boy Advance handheld consoles. To fully utilize a GBC ROM game, use our Cheats, Rom Hacks and GBA Roms sections. You can open the Pokemon Brown ROM or GBC file by Installing VisualBoyAdvance on Windows, MAC, Linux, Android or IOS/iphone.

Additional Information

Pokemon Brown is a GBC ROM Hack by Koolboyman based on Pokemon Red. It was last updated on 22 March 2014.

Also, be sure to check out Pokemon Bidoof.


Pokémon Brown is a ROM hack of Pokémon Red, created in 2004 by Koolboyman. The game takes place in a new region, Rijon, which is south of Johto. The first 151 Pokémon in the Rijon Pokédex are the same as those in the Kanto Dex. In the 2009 remake, the Dex was expanded to 224 Pokémon, and the 2014 remake added Sylveon. The game also includes five new Elemental Types.


  • 224 Pokémon from Gen I-IV and one from Gen VI for a total of 225 Pokémon. (Version 2014)
  • New Pokémon Evolutions
  • New Types
  • New TMs and HMs
  • New Moves
  • A new music track, including tunes from Johto,
  • Post-game quest

New TM’s and HM’s

The TM set for Pokémon Brown has changed a bit from the one introduced in Pokémon Red/Blue, with twelve TMs altered. The game features 50 TMs and four HMs.

Pokémon Type Changes

In game, there are five new types: WoodGas, AbnormalWind and Sound

  • Clefairy/Clefable: Normal -> Fairy
  • Koffing/Weezing: Poison -> Poison/Gas
  • Marill/Azumarill: Water -> Water/Fairy
  • Bellsprout/Weepinbell/Victreebel: Grass/Poison -> Grass/Wood
  • Exeggutor: Grass/Psychic -> Psychic/Wood
  • Gastly/Haunter/Gengar: Ghost/Poison -> Gas/Ghost
  • Porygon/Porygon2/Porygon-Z: Normal -> Abnormal
  • Ditto: Normal -> Abnormal

New Evolutions

Pokémon Brown features special items that trigger evolution for Pokémon that would normally be difficult or impossible to obtain. That includes trade evolutions and stages that were not present in earlier generations, as well as making all Eeveelutions possible.

  • Electabuzz -> Electivire (use Electrizer)
  • Magmar -> Magmortar (use Magmarizer)
  • Rhydon -> Rhyperior (use Protector)
  • Porygon -> Porygon2 (use Up-Grade)
  • Porygon2 -> Porygon-Z (use Dubious Disk)
  • Onix -> Steelix (use Metal Coat)
  • Scyther -> Scizor (use Metal Coat)
  • Sneasel -> Weavile (use Razor Claw)
  • Gligar -> Gliscor (use Razor Fang)
  • Magneton -> Magnezone (use Coronet Stone)
  • Misdreavus -> Mismagius (use Dusk Stone)
  • Murkrow -> Honchkrow (use Dusk Stone)
  • Kadabra -> Alakazam (use Trade Stone)
  • Haunter -> Gengar (use Trade Stone)
  • Machoke -> Machamp (use Trade Stone)
  • Graveler -> Golem (use Trade Stone)
  • Yanma -> Yanmega (Lvl 43)
  • Chansey -> Blissey (Lvl 55)
  • Tangela -> Tangrowth (Lvl 55)
  • Togepi -> Togetic (Lvl 20)
  • Togetic -> Togekiss (use Shiny Stone)
  • Golbat -> Crobat (Lvl 50)
  • Piloswine -> Mamoswine (Lvl 58)
  • Slowpoke -> Slowking (use King’s Rock)
  • Poliwhirl -> Politoed (use King’s Rock)
  • Seadra -> Kingdra (use Dragon Scale)
  • Eevee -> Espeon (level up an Eevee from the International Tunnel or level up the first Eevee from the Game Corner)
  • Eevee -> Umbreon (level up an Eevee from the cave north of Seashore City)
  • Eevee -> Leafeon (level up the Eevee obtained in a trade in Botan City)
  • Eevee -> Glaceon (level up the second Eevee from the Game Corner)
  • Eevee -> Sylveon (use Magic Wand; 2014 version only)

Catch ’em All

214 of the 225 Pokémon in the Rijon Dex are obtainable without using glitches or external trading. Certain legendary Pokémon, such as Articuno, Zapdos, and Moltres, are randomly assigned upon creating a new save file so that only those generated can be caught in the wild in that save.

Other Changes

  • Wing Attack’s base damaged has been increased to 90.
  • You can now bike in Castro Forest, Haunted Forest, various Route Gates that wouldn’t let you before, and in Johto.
  • Certain Pokémon can now learn TMs that they couldn’t learn before.
  • It’s now impossible to transfer your Pokémon Red/Pre 2014 version Brown save to the new version without glitching the game and messing the Pokédex and item list

File Name

Pokemon Brown

File Size




Release Date

World: 22 March 2014






Game Boy Color




Rate ROM

[Total: 15 Average: 3.9]